The Milford Daily News has an article on the recent sale of the Gaskill on George Street in Mendon.
The Preservation Mendon archives include this quick summary of the history of this house along with some old photographs:
John Southwick Gaskill, was the oldest son of Sally and Nahum Gaskill, who operated a successful grain and flour business. The twelve Gaskill children became skillful farmers and, as adults, were offered land to build homes and establish farms. John and his wife Harriet Staples Gaskill either built or were given the ca. 1830s farmhouse at what is now 34 George Street. Besides being a farmer, John served the town as Overseer of the Poor, Highway Commissioner and Selectman. His daughter Julie married Arthur Viets Pond and their children Arthur, Anna and Clara occupied the house until the early 1960s.
The farmhouse is an example of Greek Revival domestic architecture with a center hall plan. Its main façade is sheathed in clapboards, exhibits a wide fascia board under the eaves and wide paneled Doric pilasters at its corners. The National Register of Historic Places description states, “Together with its weathered outbuildings, rubble stone and granite walls and remnants, this house provides an almost unspoiled glimpse of ca. 1830 Mendon, providing a fine introduction to the proposed historic district.” Although the outbuildings no longer remain, the house still stands as a fine example of Mendon’s legacy.